Posted by   I  

Government reverse mortgages, also known as Home Equity Conversion Mortgages (HECMs), are financial instruments backed by the federal government. These specialized loans are designed to help seniors tap into their home equity while remaining in their homes. In this blog, we’ll delve into the world of government reverse mortgages and explore what they entail.

What is a Government Reverse Mortgage (HECM)?

A Government Reverse Mortgage, or HECM, is an exclusive program established by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) to assist homeowners aged 62 and older. Unlike traditional mortgages, a HECM allows seniors to convert a portion of their home equity into tax-free cash without having to sell their homes.

Key Features of Government Reverse Mortgages:

  1. Age Requirement: To be eligible for an HECM, you must be at least 62 years old, and your home must be your primary residence.
  2. Loan Types: Government reverse mortgages offer various payout options, including fixed-rate and adjustable-rate plans. The most common choice is the line of credit, which lets you access funds as needed.
  3. Non-Repayment: In an HECM, you don’t have to make monthly mortgage payments. You repay the loan when you sell the home, move out, or when the last borrower passes away.
  4. Safeguarded by Government Insurance: The FHA insures HECMs, guaranteeing that the lender will receive the expected loan amount, even if the home’s value decreases.
  5. Counseling Requirement: Before obtaining an HECM, you must attend a counseling session with an approved housing counselor. This helps ensure that you understand the implications of the loan.

Benefits of Government Reverse Mortgages:

  • Supplement retirement income.
  • Retain ownership of your home.
  • No monthly mortgage payments.
  • Tax-free funds.
  • Protected by government insurance.


  • Interest and fees accrue over time.
  • Home equity decreases as the loan balance increases.
  • Implications for inheritance and estate planning.